News Room

Visit College News Rooms

The Maricopa Community Colleges comprise ten colleges and two skill centers. Each college is individually accredited, yet part of a larger system — the Maricopa County Community College District.

The information found here relates to district-wide efforts, issues and events.

Tom Gariepy
District Director, Marketing and Communications
P: 480.731.8248
M: 480.209.6046
E: tom.gariepy@

Andrew Tucker
District Manager, Communications
P: 480.731.8503
E: andrew.tucker@domail.

Contact: Andrew Tucker
(480) 731-8503

2013 Mar 20
For Immediate Release


Ryan Borys (Paradise Valley)
Kathryn Brown (Estrella Mountain
Tanja Blasko (Scottsdale)
McKenna Manning (Phoenix)

TEMPE, AZ March 20, 2013 Six students from the Maricopa Community Colleges have been named 2013 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholars, college officials announced today. The awards are based on student scores on the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition, for which more than 1,800 applications were received this year.

Each year, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors its Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars and providing nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. The program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and is administered by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

2013 Maricopa Community College Coca Cola Awardees

Gold Scholars ($1,500 award)

  • Ryan Borys (Paradise Valley - picture attached)
  • Kathryn Brown (Estrella Mountain - picture attached)
  • Devin Oakes (Mesa)
  • Mirelle Wright (Mesa)

Silver Scholars: ($1,250 award)

  • Tanja Blasko (Scottsdale)
  • *McKenna Manning (Phoenix - picture attached)

"We're proud to share this news today," said Maricopa Community Colleges Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Dr. Maria Harper-Marinick. "Last month, Maricopa represented one out of every three students selected for the All-Arizona Academic team. Today's news proves just how bright, talented and dedicated our students are. We congratulate all winners on their achievement."

"We thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for their vote of confidence in community college students by investing in their futures," said Dr. Rod Risley, Executive Director of Phi Theta Kappa. "Their support is especially welcome during this challenging economic climate, as more and more community college students need additional resources to help them complete their degrees."

"The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges," said J. Mark Davis, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. "We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa and make it possible for deserving students to achieve their educational goals."

About the Scholars Program

Community college presidents or their designated nominators may submit no more than two nominations per campus for this award. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.


About Maricopa Community Colleges

The Maricopa Community College system is one of the largest in the nation. We are: Chandler-Gilbert, Estrella Mountain (and SouthWest Skill Center), GateWay (and Maricopa Skill Center), Glendale, Mesa, Paradise Valley, Phoenix, Rio Salado, Scottsdale and South Mountain; the system also includes satellite campuses and business/industry, technical and customized training institutes Valley-wide.